I’m Back… Really

July 29, 2009

I’m writing this post to let everyone know that I really haven’t been ignoring everyone for the last few weeks.  Well, I guess I have, but there’s a pretty good reason.

Three Wednesdays ago I had just wrapped up a great album design session with Alison and Josh and was ready to dive into more album designs.  When I returned to my desk there was a message on my phone from a number I didn’t recognize.  It was my Great Aunt telling me that my Grandmother was in intensive care at the hospital in Wilmington (2 hours away from me).  I closed and locked my office door, got in the car and drove to Wilmington.

I was on the road about an hour before I got in touch with Meridith to let her know what was going on.  I arrived at the hospital and they told me it would be an hour or so before I could see her, so I went out and bought clothes and toiletries enough for the next day or two.  I was at the hospital for the next few days and as Saturday approached My Grandmother was telling us that she wasn’t ready to get better, she was ready to go see my Grandfather.

Saturday came and I visited the hospital early that morning, said goodby to my Grandmother and left for my wedding in Raleigh.  I knew that would be the last time I would see her, but knowing that she was at peace gave me peace too.  about an hour after my wedding ended I received a text from my sister that she had passed.  My five year old son brought me a bottle of water and tissues just in case.  He’s cool.

The next week was filled with making arragements, receiving family and friends at the house and figuring out what to do with all of the food people brought.  The week after that was filled with putting out fires at work and trying to answer as many phone calls and emails as possible.

Now I’m on to this week and my sole mission is to destroy my to do list.  Crush it, beat it into submission and all that sort of thing.  I’m doing okay so far.  Hey, this blog post is on the list, so in just a minute I’ll be one more down and on to the big stuff.

One Response to “I’m Back… Really”

  1. Season Moore said

    So sorry for your loss James.

Leave a comment