Spring

April 10, 2009

This has nothing to do with photography but it’s cool and I had to share.  I’m all about the compost pile.  I don’t get it when I see my neighbors bag up their grass clippings and put them out to the curb for trash pickup.  After thanksgiving I put our halloween pumpkin near the pile and just left it.  After a few months of winter it had turned white and deflated.

I happened to look closely at it yesterday and the skin that is usually orange has become translucent and essentially become a little greenhouse for all of the new seed sprouts, protecting them from the cold.  The growth is busting through and soon my back yard will be a Charlie Brown pumpkin patch.  Ahh the magic of nature.

photo1

2 Responses to “Spring”

  1. ~Sue-Leigh said

    that is very cool

  2. Beth Jarvah said

    Wow – that is sort of gross… but I do appreciate your green sensibility. I do expect to see pictures of The Great Pumpkin this year!

Leave a Reply

