“It’s a Major Award!”

November 21, 2008

As the holiday season rolls around, it’s time to break out the holiday classic A Christmas Story.  Hands down my favorite Christmas film of all time.  One of the best parts of the movie is when the dad wins a prize for a crossword puzzle contest and when they deliver the big box he has no idea what it is, he just knows that it’s a “Major Award!”.  He says “Major Award!” over and over, and it’s just funny when all of the packing material is cleared, there in the crate is a lamp in the shape of a woman’s leg, complete with high heel and fishnet stocking.  Priceless!

Though much less electrical, I received a “Major Award!” last week too.  It was from the Triangle chapter of NACE which is a catering trade group.  Each member photographer had the opportunity to submit a collage depicting one wedding event.  I submitted Lauren and Will’s wedding from May and won the “Major Award!” for best photography.

They say life imitates art, so just like in the movie when the lamp breaks, I managed to break my “Major Award!” too.  I was able to glue it back together, but it will never be the same.

This is my “Major Award!” (saying that never gets old)

This is the collage that I submitted

If you would like your own “Major Award!” you can go to redriderleglamps.com

3 Responses to ““It’s a Major Award!””

  1. I’ve been laughing about this since yesterday – rest assured that I will think of you this holiday season during the never ending marathon of that crazy movie!

    Beth

  2. Cara Zuehlke said

    You are so funny James! Can you write all my blog post’s for me? 🙂

  3. ivangonzalezphoto said

    Congratulations man, the collage is Awesome! they should have sent you a Check too!

Leave a Reply

