I’m So Happy!

November 5, 2008

Last night as I was watching the election coverage I finally saw the moment I had been waiting to see for months.  I was so happy I nearly shed a tear.  First it was a commercial for Aleeve, then a Sonicare toothbrush, and then one for Golden Corral.  It was amazing, I finally had real commercials back on TV!!

Being that North Carolina has been such a “battleground state” we have had absolutely nothing lately but campaign ads.  All of our races both local and national have been aggressive; from the Senate to the Governor’s office and as of right now we still don’t know which presidential candidate won the state.  Campaigns fought hard here and the TV ads never stopped.

I personally think that part of our economic problem is that there were so many companies that could not get their commercials on air that many TV watchers were unaware that they could buy a car or order a pizza.  It just didn’t occur to them to go buy stuff because they didn’t see a commercial giving them the permission and suggestion to do so.

I don’t really watch very much television, but when I do I want my commercials predictable and mundane like I’m used to.  Neither I or anyone I know has ever been this interested in an election.  The passion, and sense of urgency energized us all, but most people I know agree that we are glad to see this election season put to bed.  We’ll do it all again soon enough.

Leave a Reply

