Vote Early!

October 23, 2008

Why wait for November when you can vote now?  I went down to the nearby mall, walked in and five minutes later had my “I voted” sticker and was on my way!  It was so quick and easy and there were no lines.  If you have the opportunity to vote early in your area I would highly recommend it.

Whomever you decide to vote for, it would be a good idea to make up your mind before you walk in the booth.  Meridith said she overheard one couple beside her arguing.  One of them saying “you’re really going to vote for him? go ahead if you want to, but I’m not”  I was thinking wow, don’t these people talk with each other at the dinner table?

The part of the south where we live is what I would consider very regionally mixed.  I know just as many people who relocated here from other parts of the country or world as the ones who have always called this state home, so it’s hard to predict what will happen here.  It’s funny to see the cars around town and in the parking lot at my kid’s school.  The big SUVs with McCain stickers and the Prius hybrids with Obama stickers.  Mini vans it seems can go either way.  That may sound like stereotyping, but it’s right there in front of me.  As for me, I think bumper stickers are tacky (no offense) and I don’t drive a SUV, a mini van or a hybrid.

I’m about the least political person I know.  I’ve always been registered independent and have voted for the third party more than once.  Since Ross Perot didn’t make it in the 90s I’ve decided to go more main stream, but you have to admire that Ralph Nader for not knowing the meaning of the word quit.

Seriously, go vote.  I don’t care who you vote for, I just want it to be a huge turn out so that whomever is finally elected knows that the people are watching and interested in what happens next, and that he better not *F* things up any more than they are right now.

A little 90s nostalgia from elections past.

Leave a Reply

