Memories

March 21, 2008

 Wasn’t I cute?  Look at all those faded 1970s era photos!  It’s easy to see where Will gets his blond hair and pinchable cheeks.

My Grandmother’s Funeral was Tuesday and it was really nice to see all the family who came in town  from all over and talk about the good old days.  By the way, no condolences needed in response to this post.  My Grandmother, (we called her Mema) had a very long, full life, and a very loving family that was there with her till the end.  The memories are very fond for me, and I am very much at peace with the fact that she and my Grandfather are together again.

The point of this post is that while everyone was gathered around in the  house, talking, eating, laughing, sharing stories, almost everyone was looking at photographs.  Whether in an album or just thumbing through a stack, these photos were helping all of our family to relive parts of their own history.  These little pieces of paper brought a sense of connection to the past and helped us to remember who we are or were as the case may be.

I really don’t remember it, but apparently my Grandmother would take me quite often to have my photos made when I was really young.  While there is nothing creative or interesting about the photos themselves, it is fun to see that crazy stuff I was wearing and it’s great to know that I was important enough to have professional photos made of me instead tons of snap shots that were just okay.

It’s also interesting to really see the trade offs that are made with the different photos.  We’ve always heard that you get what you pay for and you can see it in action here.  These photos are all about 30 years old.  You can see that the color is fading quite a bit in some but not others.

I do know that all of the discolored photos were done at different times but at the same studio which was in a department store.  The photos that are not faded were done at a photo studio that has been around forever and whose prices were much higher than the department store’s.  Now for the polaroids, the color is still as good as it was when taken, but the detail is terrible.  What does this tell us?  I’m not sure.  Everyone has different priorities, and of course I’m biased, but as I stated two posts down, it’s not worth it to cheap out on your memories.

One Response to “Memories”

  1. cheryl said

    Aw it has been a long time since I have seen these photos. Will looks just like you!!! What cute kid with a ton og hair! 🙂

Leave a Reply

