What’s a Four Letter Word That Begins With ‘F’?

February 29, 2008

No silly….  the word is film.  I’m back into film and have the first image from my personal project involving scenic portraits.  I recently had the opportunity to purchase a fantastic film camera.  The kind I used to dream of owning when film was mainstream.

Now that film is becoming much less mainstream and more of an artist’s medium I am finding myself drawn to it.  I am very comfortable exploring techniques that require precise planning, concentration and execution to achieve the desired result.  This first test is an example of that in the sense that it is one scene composed of nine individual exposures.  The individual frames come together in contact sheet form to give  a slightly different presentation of the world that we saw that day.

I shot film for ten years before going completely digital in 2000.  From now on I will no longer consider myself completely digital.

 

Leave a Reply

