Back from Tampa

January 23, 2008

OK, so that’s pretty old news by now, but I haven’t really talked about how cool of an experience it was to spend several days with several hundred amazing photographers from all over the world.  The scene was the DWF Convention in Tampa, Florida, and I was scheduled as the very first speaker.  At first that made me nervous, but once I was done I realized that I could totally relax the rest of the time and that was a good feeling.

My seminar topic was location lighting.  Basically mixing natural light and artificial light which is something I have been doing comfortably for many years, but also something that a lot of photographers have trouble with and want to know more about.  I talked for an hour and a half and I think I paused for a breath twice.  Ninety minutes is not a lot of time when you have something you really want to share with people.  And the people!  There were over three hundred of them sitting in front of me.  It was cool to look out into a great big room and see every seat filled.

Every person I spoke with after the talk had great questions and intense interest in taking their photography to the next level through lighting.  I had the opportunity to chat with people from Russia, Australia, the UK, Canada and all over the US.   Unfortunately I don’t have any photos because I have a rule about taking cameras to photo conventions.

While at the convention we hit the huge trade show over at Imaging USA.  We saw our good friend Jessica, and Meridith got a Shootsac!  We saw all sorts of other cool stuff too; some of which will be appearing in our gallery soon.  The time between seminars was quite short, so no huge adventures to report, but there was an Oreo cookie eating contest that made me think twice about ever getting dessert again.  The winner of the contest took in over 12,000 calories in just 30 minutes.  I don’t personally count calories, but damn!

All in all it was a great time.  Catching up with old friends, making new ones and learning more than I could ever apply is all part of the photo convention experience.

Leave a Reply

