Our Friend Robyn

January 18, 2008

Robyn Mangrum is a magazine publisher. We thought that sounded like a super cool job and wanted to know more. The thing to know about Robyn is that she has a lot of energy and would be voted best dressed anywhere she goes. We’ve known her now for several years and now that the latest issue of Weddings Magazine is out into the world she had a few minutes to answer our slew of questions, some serious, some frivolous.

Q: How would you describe what you do?
A: As a magazine publisher, I would say that my world revolves around photo shoots, graphic design, ad sales and distribution of magazines. But alas, all these wonderful photo shoots and somehow, I never end up in any of them 🙂 The cakes and flowers are much more interesting I suppose!

Q: How many pages is the magazine, and do you get a lot of paper cuts?
A: My magazine is 224 pages of amazing images and helpful editorial…paper cuts? Hmm, none of those yet, but I do get quite a unique ‘high’ off all the ink used on my paper! You should smell my car full of magazine boxes…talk about a head rush!

Q: What’s the most exciting part of your job?
A: My actual favorite part is when the photo shoots morph into our beautiful spreads in the magazine. I love the beautiful images but there is nothing like seeing them laid out in the magazine. The other most exciting part is seeing the final product and holding it in my hands.

Q: If you had to choose between X-Ray vision and flying which one and why?
A: I would say flying…then I could go anywhere in the world whenever I felt like it! X Ray vision may cause me to lose my vision…there are some things best left covered up!! Hence..clothing!

Q: What’s something we might not know about magazine publishing?
A: That it is hardly glamorous! I mean, thank God we love James…cause we spend more time sitting around at our fashion shoots talking about silly stuff while waiting for models to change hair and makeup! Seriously, set up and preparation is what goes on…the actual picture lasts a moment! A lot of work goes into the final product that the reader sees.


Q: Do you prefer soup or salad?

A: Oh…I like some Miso soup…so much so I named my Siamese cat after it!!

Q: What trends do you see for 2008 weddings?
A: I see that ladies who got married in the 1980’s and divorced and are remarrying in 2008 can save a lot of money and pull out the old dress and color scheme! Hate to say it, the 80’s are still holding strong…BUT, at least the colors are toned down! And, on a positive note, blue eye shadow will not be making a comeback! I also see the baby got back song making a comeback!

Q: Do you have an all time favorite book?
A: I am more of a music person myself..BUT, since you backed me into a corner on this ‘book’ thing, I would say I really loved The DaVinci Code!!

Q: What’s next in the world of publishing?
A: More and more local magazines copying us perhaps? LOL! No, seriously, I think a lot has gone to the web but I do feel that brides love to still hold a nice magazine to take with them…so, I see the need for beautiful images to keep getting better and better.

Q: Do you think that Michael Jackson will ever make a comeback?
A:  If he can find his nose….he might have a small shot at a comeback….maybe Billie Jean REALLY was his lover and the kid IS his son and MAYBE, Michael Jackson Jr. will come around and be a bigger hit with a bigger nose! hehe!

Leave a Reply

