Get to Know Joe

December 14, 2007

Wherever Joe Bunn goes, there’s probably a party happening. We’ve known Joe for a few years now and decided it might be fun to do a little casual interviewing with some of our good friends in the wedding industry. With that in mind, Joe is our first official “Friends” interview. The thing we like most about working with him is that there is never a dull moment in the party and he knows how to get the people up and dancing which of course gives us more interesting subject matter to photograph.

We’ve been to weddings where other DJs have complained that no one is dancing because they haven’t had enough to drink yet. (the crowd, not the DJ) On the other hand, the receptions with Joe, some with no alcohol at all, he’ll have the whole crowd dancing their asses off until the last song is played. Below are some random questions I had for Joe and his thoughtful responses. Check him out at www.bunndjcompany.com

Q. How would you describe what you do?

A. My DJ style is very chameleon-like. I can play in a club on Friday and then put on a suit and tie and do a wedding on Saturday. This allows me to able to mix songs in a wedding that usually don’t go together in a seamless manner so that the guests just keep dancing all night! All of our DJ’s have different styles and personalities, this is just mine.


Q. Do you have a favorite band or song or type of music?

A. As a DJ, I really don’t have one artist or genre that I prefer. We have to be able to play it all. We may not love it all, but we need to be prepared.

Q. Do you prefer day or night?

A. I like nights alot better since I think people are more loose and ready to dance.


Q. If you had a time machine where would you go first?

A. Elvis’ Comeback concert

Q. What’s the most outrageous thing that you’ve seen happen at a reception?

A. It’s not fit to print

Q. If you wrote a book, what would it be about?

A. About how important the DJ is at a wedding reception


Q. Between Britney and Lindsay, who do you think is more messed up?

A. Britney, mainly because she lost her kids to that loser K-Fed, and as a parent I can’t imagine that.

Q. Do drunk people dance better than sober people?

A. No, but they are more prone to get out there before the sober ones.

Q. Why do you think people still want to hear the Electric Slide?

A. Wow. Ummm. I think that it’s universal and simple and you don’t really have to know how to dance to do it?? I guess?

Q. What’s the coolest part about what you do?

A. I get to entertain people by playing music every weekend, and when you love music as much as I do, it doesn’t get much better than that!

One Response to “Get to Know Joe”

  1. jrdupree said

    I can’t begin to describe the jealousy I felt when I saw Joe got an interview and pic on the blog. I know you don’t know me James, but I know you through Joe. Your blog updates and wonderful photos are always daily highlights for me. Keep up the good work and updates!! Merry Christmas to you and your family! – John Dupree

Leave a Reply

