What are blogs doing to us??

October 22, 2007

I was thinking. do blogs bring us closer together or keep us apart?  Our initial reason for creating this blog was for us to have the opportunity to create a weekly showcase for our work and travels.  To give our past clients something to show their friends, and our future clients plenty to look forward to and get excited about.  It seems like that part is working fine, but there are other side effects we did not expect.

For example, many of our other photographer friends have blogs as well.  We check out their blogs to see what they are up to, where they have been shooting and so on.  I just realized that I have one friend who I haven’t caught up with in person or on the phone in a long time.  The problem is that I don’t feel the urge to call and catch up because I already know what they are up to because I read their blog.  It’s not that I don’t want to see them in person, it’s just that I never ask myself:  “I wonder what they’re up to, I should give them a call”.

Don’t get me wrong, I like blogs.  I like to see what’s happening in my industry, or in the case of past clients who have blogs it’s good to keep up with them that way, but there is one little irritation I have.  Not long ago I was talking with a person who was new to wedding photography.  They were just starting out and had a lot of energy.  They were very enthusiastic in expressing that they loved the work that Meridith and I did and they always studied our blog for inspiration before they went out to shoot a wedding of their own.  I know that they meant it as a great compliment, but I took that to mean “you inspire me, so I steal your ideas”.

There is an unspoken competition going amongst photographers and it’s taking place on their respective blogs.  That part I really like.  Competition is good and healthy.  If it were not for that brand of blog oneupmanship we wouldn’t have some of the great concepts that seem normal now such as day after sessions, trash the dress sessions, and destination engagements portraits.  In other words, the world might be a wee bit more boring.

I’m interested to hear other people’s take on this.  I invite both clients and our photographer friends to comment on their experiences.

7 Responses to “What are blogs doing to us??”

  1. Krystal said

    We understand what you are talking about and agree that the competition aspect is brilliant, but as a photographer who works 90% of the time in Florida it’s difficult for us to meet many of the photographers we admire.

    Being able to follow the work of our favorites allows us also a glimpse of your personalities and in many ways your “perspective.”

    It also creates opportunities for us to talk with you without making a photo-geek cold call.

    Even better is that the blog culture has forced photographers to move out of their comfort zones and try new techniques, which is only continuing to elevate wedding photography as an art form to the public.

  2. ed said

    Just wanted to put in my 2 cents since you asked.
    Have you ever looked at another photographers site & found something that you started to use? I enjoyed looking at your photos, they are beautiful, but are you the first one to shoot the couple sitting in the surf? Or the shot of the bride w/the groom out of focus?…see where I’m going with this? The only solution would be to post your “worst” photos & hope that those are “stolen” (just kidding) I’ll bet most of your work comes from referrals anyway. (the kind of promotion money can’t buy) I’m climbing down from my soapbox now. I enjoy visiting, keep up the good work.

  3. getthelook said

    Hey Ed,

    Thanks for commenting!

    I totally agree that there is nothing new under the sun. Everything that is being done now for wedding clients was done long ago by other photographers for a different type of client (editorial or fashion).

    One good thing about the increased exposure of blogs is that now we are getting our wedding clients much more comfortable with seeing imagery that goes beyond their traditional concepts of what wedding or portrait photography “should” be.

    In my opinion a photographer’s brilliance does not come from how many poses or setups they have in their bag of tricks; it is how they use their environment, and how they relate to their clients and make them comfortable enough to create imagery that is both beautiful and meaningful, and not just cool for the sake of cool.

  4. Leslie said

    I just have to let you know that I come out to this site all the time to look at the new photos that have been added. Even though Allison’s wedding is over, I’m still excited to see a new shot (still love the ring in the palm). I often refer people that are big into photography to your site just to get ideas. You may not have been the first one to shoot the couple in the surf but your pictures of the wedding on Dafuski in the bridal magazine was enough to get us to call from Cleveland Ohio to have you shoot Allison and Chris’ wedding in Hilton Head. We expected the pictures to be great and they were.

  5. getthelook said

    Thanks Leslie! We love you guys!!

  6. I love blogs. For me, I know sometimes I think to myself “I have to get something different for my blog” I don’t want all the pictures to look the same or the same as everyone else. It def helps push me on those days I am feeling nothing new 🙂 Also, I would love to call and chat with all the wonderful photogs I have met and never get to see but then I would get even less work done then I do know blog surfing 🙂 I love to see the personal posts so when I don’t have time to call, I can still see what my friends are doing. I think in our busy lives, it does keep us close together just in a new way. I still love getting letters and phone calls but I will settle for a blog post anyday 🙂

  7. Chris said

    As far as the copying goes, we looked at a lot of “journalistic” photographers when we were looking, and there was just something about your pictures that stood out. I think some of the aspects can be copied, but I think that yours and Meredith’s dynamics are hard to beat!

    As far as the blogging aspect, I check out this page more than I submit comments or would probably bother you with emails just to see what you are up to. Also as a recent client, I didn’t bother calling you when I saw that you were going to Mexico to shoot a wedding. We didn’t have anything that was pressing enough to bother you that much 🙂

Leave a Reply

