Blog Tag

September 20, 2007

So a few weeks ago I got tagged by my friend Cory Ann. The concept of blog tag is that you tag a person who then has to post to their blog eight things you might not know about them. I feel really lame because I’ve been so busy that I haven’t played along like I should, and because of that I just got tagged again by my friend Jessica. Oh, the other part of this game of tag is that I now have to tag others who will then entertain us with their crazy little secrets.

So before I get tagged again, here goes:

1. Beer grosses me out. I know ‘m a guy, and guys like beer, but it seriously disgusts me. I even try it every five years or so just to be sure and the feelings have never changed. Give me a good red wine and I’m happy.

2. I was named James after my grandfather. Everyone in the family called me “Jamey”.  One day in preschool (I was 4) I met a new girl in school on the playground and her name was Jamie. From that moment on I insisted that everyone in my family call me James. It took a while, but by the time I was 5 everyone had it right.

3.  I am addicted to “What the Buck”.  If you haven’t seen it, it’s a guy named Michael Buckley who self produces a really dishy and funny celebrity gossip clip every week on You Tube.  I hate to admit it, but sometimes things get slow at a reception, and maybe they’re playing the Casper slide for the second time, I can be found outside watching What the Buck on my iphone.

4.  Many people know that Charleston, SC is my very favorite town.  In fact the only reason I don’t live there is that I like it so much I’m afraid the romance might fade if I stayed too long.  What you don’t know is that my very favorite place to visit in that city is a little bench that sits between two wildly different cemeteries.  One is quite neat and well kept, the other is a jungle with head stones hidden throughout.  The peace and quiet there will shake you.

5.   I absolutely, positively hate to fly.  I’ll do it, and I try not to bitch about it too much, but it’s just a thing I don’t look forward to.  I’ve been lots of places, and I certainly didn’t drive to Italy the last time I went, but it’s not my idea of fun.

6.   Whenever I visit touristy places I always look for those machines that squish pennies.  I think it’s a cool souvenir  because no matter where you go the look is consistent.  I have big dreams of one day putting them all in a shadow box or something equally hokey.  Meridith just rolls her eyes.

7.    My favorite guilty pleasure is Mountain Dew.  That stuff is just not good for you, but it’s so refreshingly citrus that I can fool myself into believing that it could have some vitamin C in there somewhere.

8.   I can still remember what my wife Meridith was wearing the first time I saw her.  It was 21 years ago and we were in the 6th grade.  She has no recollection of the Carolina blue hoodie she had on with jeans, and Keds.  Remember Keds?? Anyway, I remember.

Since I was lame and got tagged twice, I’ll offer two more

9.   I would really like to renew our vows in Vegas, with Elvis, and put a photo in the home town paper.  Meridith’s not having it.

10.  My favorite band of all time is R.E.M.  My favorite song is Wendell Gee

So there you go.  Here are the links to the newly tagged.

Carlos Baez 

Sue-Leigh

Dawn Earles

Tina Wilson 

Christobal Perez 

Tamara Lackey 

2 Responses to “Blog Tag”

  1. Dawn said

    I can’t believe it, I finally got tagged!

    I so remember keds!!!! I’m so with you on the vegas thing. I want to renew on our 10 year at the star trek experience in vegas…but my hubby just won’t do it. I still have about a year to try and make him put on the vulcan ears and drive me there…..hehehe!!! He’d probably do the elvis thing though!

  2. def good things to know bout James…but just so you are accurate, you were tagged 3 times 😉

Leave a Reply

