Ashley & Pat- Durham, NC

May 23, 2007

First I have to tell you why Ashley is my hero.  I guess we have been lucky so far that in the hundreds of weddings we have shot over the years, I could count on one and a half hands the times it has rained during the ceremony part of the day.  I for one do not mind rain, it changes the textures and scenery of the day and provides some interesting challenges.  I do however know that I am very alone in that opinion.

Ashley had an outdoor ceremony planned at Duke Gardens.  She was excited about it, and when the forecast was for rain, she went out and bought colorful  umbrellas which were passed out with each program.  She was not phased at all by mother nature and for this she is my hero.  She could have gone to “plan B” and had the ceremony inside, she could have been bummed out by the overhead water works, but she was more determined to have a happy and beautiful garden wedding and she did indeed.

The rain actually stopped half way through the ceremony, and the rest of the day was perfect for creating great photos.  I’d have to say that this was one of the most fun weddings of the year to photograph.  Ashley, Pat and their friends were a blast.  I also have to give a shout out to our friends at Fresh Affairs for another outstanding floral design.

Leave a Reply

